Mon Dieu!

I have this pipe dream about becoming an articulate (not the Sheldon Cooper articulate but more like the Aristotle-Socrates-wisdom-articulate) person. Using that pipe dream as a motivational sort, I came up to the conclusion that I’m going learn what I need for life and not what were needed for my Board exams, I am going to learn, not cramming and mugging up but learn, understanding the concepts and all that.

Mainly because I spent my study holidays sleeping and wailing how I couldn’t get myself to study. And when the muddle in my head cleared, I’d convince myself that I needed energy to learn at a streak. And for that energy I had to sleep. See? It’s a vicious circle of sleep. Since I slept all day, I was combat-ready at nights, putting owls to shame.

And on the day of my first exam, my sleep got the better of me. Thank heavens, it was just French. By ‘just French’ I mean the 2-3 days (before French exam) when I was going mad and was trying to cook because I, again, couldn’t get myself to study. But somehow, in the end I crammed and all that. So much for that pipe dream and motivation about being articulate!

In the examination hall, sometimes I just had to check for myself that I was mentally present because I was drunk-sleepy and I dreamt too while dozing off in there. And there were times when I couldn’t tell apart from reality and a dream. French is not a very tiring exam, maximum that you’ll need 2 hours of the available 3. But learning for the French exam, it beats the efforts of athletes for Olympics. Okay, I’m exaggerating… a bit.

And our Hall Supervisor just made sure that I or anyone for that matter does not sleep… completely because it looked like he allowed us to drop our eyelids but made sure it does not close completely.

Sleepy-Dwarf-Snow-White

Because every 15 minutes he’d tell us the time and ask us to check our papers because obviously, this is the exam of life. Truth be told, I was plenty happy when he declared in his Martin Luther King Jr. way – “last 15 minutes. Check your paper.” More than being happy about doing the exam well, I was glad that it came to end.

Tout est bien qui finit bien.*

*All is well that ends well.

Update:

And, um, yes. We had this ridiculous rule that after finishing our test we have to score off the unwritten pages in the answer booklet. French had around 40 pages and I ludicrously used 8 sides. In the other 32 sides I had to score off and write at the bottom of the page – “Scored out by me.” Eventually, I forgot the spelling of ‘scored’ after 4-5 sides and wrote like ‘socred, Socrates (I know, right!), scoerd’. You see, the word started looking weird to me.

Leave a Reply

